Posted in diorama, Dollhouse, Dolls, Fashion dolls, roombox, Rosie

Rosie’s Doll Adventure, Part 1

Rosie’s first real adventure begins, quietly enough, with trains, dolls, and a bedtime story.

Rosie and toys 2

Rosie and her dolls 2

Rosie and uncle 2

Rosie and the lonely doll

Rosie and the loney doll 2

Rosie is a doll

Rosie is a doll 2

Rosie is a doll 3

Rosie is a doll 5

and then . . . to be continued in about 4 weeks when we return to Rosie’s story.

First, great news! I managed to reattach the head of the severed-head doll so that she can star in this adventure as Rosie’s doll self. More about that in Wednesday’s post. Many thanks to Dovile from DovileDollart for creating an absolutely lovely doll.

Second, I am amused to no end at the idea of a doll turning into a doll. My (oh my god so patient) husband seriously considered my quandary of whether to make one of Rosie’s dolls “real” or to turn Rosie into a doll. And he never laughed, even once. In the end, I turned Rosie into a doll. But, more on that on Wednesday.

I’ll write a bit about creating Rosie’s room on Friday. It’s still not really held together, but it’s real enough for Rosie and far more satisfying then posing poor Rosie on a floor tile in the photo cube.

IMG_2749

You might wonder who that is under the top hat. He’ll be back in some of Rosie’s other stories, and his relationship will become clear then. But, the doll itself is based on James Franco in Oz, and I bought him just to get the tiny China doll that appears on the floor in the photo above. Once I took him out of his tophat and tails and put him in a nice turtleneck, he looked very sweet, so I let him join the cast.

Adding a male doll (even as an accessory, as in this case) is big news in doll land, which is almost entirely female with the exception of this doll and Generic Bob. I’m sure there’s lots of psychological depths one could plumb on this topic, but I’m going to stick to the story that girl dolls are just cuter :).

****

Credits:

  • Rosie is the creation of Andrea Meyer of Wildflower dolls. If a doll can be a muse (and, I’d argue, it can) Andrea creates muses.
  • Rosemary (in yellow flowered dress) is from DovileDollart . Her work is amazing – each doll handcrafted from scratch.
  • Plastic dolls (4″ China doll and James Franco doll) from Jakks Pacific
  • The Lonely Doll is a real book that we had as kid, written by Dare Wright.
  • Tiny felted dog and felted white teddy bear from my sister, Melanie Allen.
Author:

In my (almost) 60th year on earth I decided to set my fashion dolls free of their clothes and accessories and send them on adventures. This is your window onto my own adventure into a land of crafts where I have zero skills, talent or mentors. Wish me (and my dolls) luck!

Leave a Reply

