Posted in doll adventure, Fashion dolls, general discussion

Review: Moana – A true adventure doll

Fashion dolls were not built to have adventures – they were built to model fashions. The store shelves include some half-hearted nods to a life beyond the closet, but they largely support the most mundane day imaginable – including playsets for, I kid you not, cooking spaghetti and cleaning up dog poop.

So, when I went to create my own doll adventures, I populated it with one-of-a-kind dolls and custom made dioramas.

Imagine my surprise when Hasbro released an actual adventurous doll with an actual adventurous playset – a Moana doll and some adventurous critters on an outrigger canoe.

My favorite feature of the doll are her feet.

dsc_0097

Look at those feet! Those aren’t little princess feet that you can cram into a glass slipper. They’re the big, sturdy feet of someone who can run and play.

dsc_0102Here’s the doll sitting on her canoe. Note that the doll that comes with the playset doesn’t have articulated elbows – I bought an extra doll for the articulation. But she’s otherwise just the same as the doll that comes with the canoe.

The canoe rolls forward on wheels in a kind of a rocking motion, and there’s even a little lamp that projects starlight on the wall (which I haven’t tried out yet.)

dsc_0101It’s hard to define the line that separates this adventure-ready doll from pretty much every other fashion doll out there. Barbie has adventure-worthy accessories, but it’s as if they’re meant to go with her outfit instead of designed to be part of an adventure. The Moana playset isn’t plucked out of a coordinated closet – it’s a snippet pulled from a larger adventurous life, from the tip of it’s fabric sail to the bottom of her big, sturdy feet.

Save

Save

Save

Author:

In my (almost) 60th year on earth I decided to set my fashion dolls free of their clothes and accessories and send them on adventures. This is your window onto my own adventure into a land of crafts where I have zero skills, talent or mentors. Wish me (and my dolls) luck!

Leave a Reply

